European Union Prize for Literature Announced

Posted 16th October 2013

The winners of this year’s European Union Prize for Literature were announced on 26th September at the opening of the Göteborg Book Fair in Sweden. An initiative of the EU Culture programme, the prize seeks to recognise the wealth of literary talent across Europe and to promote the circulation of emerging authors work outside of their home countries. The winners (listed below) will receive € 5,000 and the priority to apply for EU funding to have their book translated into other European languages. They will be presented with their awards at a gala ceremony in Brussels on 26th November in the presence of Commissioner Androulla Vassiliou and leading representatives of the worlds of literature, culture and politics.

The winners are: Isabelle Wéry (Belgium), Faruk Šehić (Bosnia Herzegovina), Emilios Solomou (Cyprus), Kristian Bang Foss (Denmark), Meelis Friedenthal (Estonia), Lidija Dimkovska (Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia), Katri Lipson (Finland), Marica Bodrožić (Germany), Tullio Forgiarini (Luxembourg), Ioana Pârvulescu (Romania), Gabriela Babnik (Slovenia) and Cristian Crusat (Spain).

Read more about the Prize here.